disappearing inK: surprises


(L to R) Kevin Corbin, Lawrence Lanahan, Odell Norman, Mark Brock-Cancellieri

Photo: Lawrence Lanahan

Disappearing Ink returns after six years with Surprises. Lawrence Lanahan's "melodic and lyrical innovation" incorporates a wider range of sounds this time: Janschian fingerpicking, self-sampled psychedelia, Zombies-esque electric piano, and the clean guitar-driven punch of late 70s Richard Thompson. The lyrics, mordant with flashes of hope, reflect a father and husband grappling with the unpredictability of middle age and 21st century America.

TEN BRAND NEW SONGS from Baltimore songwriter Lawrence Lanahan.

Coming TK TK, 2020.


BOOKING AND PRESS: llanahan@gmail.com, 410-375-6350

On Disappearing Ink's new album Surprises, Baltimore songwriter Lawrence Lanahan opens up to new sounds and confronts the truth that the older one gets, the more unpredictable life becomes.

On TK TK, 2020, Baltimore-based songwriter and guitarist Lawrence Lanahan delivers Surprises, the second release from his Disappearing Ink project. Critics praised Lanahan's first album, a self-titled 2004 EP, for “intricately picked guitar work and melodious, thoughtful songs” and “wit, emotion, [and] bizarre narration.” In 2014, Lanahan recorded as Disappearing Ink with former Jennifers bassist Joe Tropea and experimental music stalwart Bob Wagner on drums. There Is No Time and Nothing's Been chronicled characters who can’t find their place and sometimes engage in magical thinking trying to find it, including 12th century lovers Abelard and Heloise (“Pere Lachaise”) and a Wall Street high roller just before the 2008 crash (“Lindbergh Blues”). Lanahan drew on composition studies with Judah Adashi and jazz studies with Carl Filipiak to create a cohesive sound throughout There Is No Time and Nothing's Been: jazz harmonies, guitar feedback, and horn and string arrangements loaded into a driving rhythm section for tight tunes and occasional departures into out-jazz improvisation.

Then Disappearing Ink...disappeared. Lanahan's second child was born three months after the 2014 release show for There Is No Time and Nothing's Been at Baltimore's Windup Space, and the lineup never performed again. Lanahan focused on family responsibilities and set to work on a nonfiction book on segregation and racism in the Baltimore region, leaving music behind for several years. When Lanahan began writing music again, free moments were scarcer than ever, and he recorded at home mostly by himself, inspired partly by Todd Rungdren's Something/Anything? 

Lanahan embraced the notion of "disappearing ink," abandoning the cohesive sound of the previous album. For Surprises, Lanahan indulged any musical impulse that came to him during arranging and recording. The “melodic and lyrical innovation” critics detected in his first album 16 years ago remains, but the sounds are variegated: punchy guitar rock echoing Richard and Linda Thompson; feedback-centric sound collage; dreamy Lanois-inspired grooves; opaque Robyn-Hitchcockian mind trips; R&B; and British folk revival fingerpicking. The album closes on an aggressive cover of "You Can Have It All," a George McCrae disco romp famously reinterpreted by Yo La Tengo. Lanahan lifts the previous album's guitar-solo moratorium, pushing a new Telecaster through some urgent personal expression.

Lyrically, Surprises laments the unpredictability of approaching middle age with mordant observations. The first lines of the album showcase the stakes: "I used to sing sweet melodies/I never had to wait too long/To find the next note/Sometimes the note came to me/Now I can try all through the night/And all I get are aches and fears/They ring in my ears/And settle inside of me." Occasional flashes of hope, like the curiosity in the sound of a child's voice, spark an instinct to persevere.

In 2019, Lanahan's published The Lines Between Us: Two Families and a Quest to Cross Baltimore's Racial Divide and began performing in Baltimore with a new lineup for Disappearing Ink: Mark Brock-Cancellieri on electric piano (who plays on a few Surprises tracks), Odell Norman on drums, and Kevin Corbin on bass. The band planned on playing a release show in 2020; then COVID-19 arrived. Lanahan began a series of live-streamed performances in March 2020, choosing covers and songs from his own catalog along themes like "Old Songs, New Resonances" and "Assholes, Losers, and Sad Bastards." One performance consisted entirely of covers of Baltimore songwriters.

Lawrence Lanahan lives in northeast Baltimore with his wife Andrea Appleton and their two children. Lanahan produced, arranged, and performed on Joseph Bernstein's recent debut, 1941.

For booking and interviews, please call 410-375-6350 or write to llanahan@gmail.com.

Hear the album Lawrence Lanahan wrote and recorded mostly alone in his home studio--à la Todd Rungdren's Something/Anything?--over the course of three years:


From 2014, There Is No Time and Nothing's Been:

From 2004, Lawrence Lanahan's self-titled EP:

BOOKING AND PRESS: llanahan@gmail.com, 410-375-6350

  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Spotify Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • iTunes Social Icon
  • CD Baby Social Icon